Welcome to energyTwin
TEMA slide1

energyTWIN
energy diagnostic connector 
digital twin

New sensor-based and KI-based methods for the digital, BIM-based commissioning of technical systems in building structures and their energetic system optimization.

UPDATES

6th status meeting at E3D in Aachen on 5 July 2022

On 5 July 2022, the project partners exchanged views on the current status of developments at the Chair for Energy Efficiency and Sustainable Building - E3D at RWTH Aachen University. In the afternoon of the day, the developments to date were presented to the project advisory board of representatives from associations and companies and discussed. The developments in virtual and augmented reality could be tried out in practice on the laboratory demonstrator, the Viega CUBE.

On 15 July 2022, the project was presented by Tristan Kinnen und Dr. Matthias Wenthe to an international audience at the 39th Symposium on Automation and Robotics in Construction (ISARC 2022) in Bogotá, Colombia, as part of a presentation entitled "BIM-assisted, automated processes for commissioning in building services engineering". The associated publication can be downloaded at https://www.iaarc.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/ISARC-2022-Proceedings.pdf.

MAIN OBJECTIVES

  • Method development for automated generation of "digital twins" in the commissioning of technical building equipment and its continuous information enrichment in the operation and utilization phase,
  • Recognition of geometry, system topology and energetic-functional and information-technical relationships of technical building equipment during construction and technical commissioning,
  • Novel methods for high-resolution data capturing and automated as-built modeling based on as-planned data,
  • Data segmentation and classification for the automatic recognition of components in mass data (e.g. point clouds, images),
  • Organization and structured processing of data taking functional relationships into account,
  • Application of new 5D BIM tools and intelligent asset management workflows,
  • Use of artificial intelligence (AI) for digitalization of the “Energiewende” in the building sector.

PROJECT

MAIN OBJECTIVES

Digitalization is a megatrend in all areas of the economy and society.

This is particularly true for the construction industry, which has a lot catching up to do compared to other sectors of the economy, since it is one of the least digitalized industries. From the perspective of the “Energiewende”, digitalization is a key component for managing/handling the volatility of renewable energies in the electricity, heat and mobility sectors on both the generation and consumption side.

In the future, more sophisticated solutions will be necessary to capture the increasingly complex energy system technologies. The highly complex linkage between technical building equipment (TBE) and building automation (BAM) must be captured by information and communication technology (ICT). For managing and analyzing all data in a holistic way, building information models (BIM) are to be used in a form that is comprehensible to humans.

To master the increasing complexity in future, moreover artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning methods must be utilized.

The aim of the energyTWIN project is therefore to develop methods for the automated generation of "digital twins" in the commissioning of technical building equipment and its continuous information enrichment in the operation and utilization phase.

THE NETWORK PARTNERS

CONTACT

Willkommen bei energyTwin
slide1

energyTWIN
Energiediagnosestecker Digitaler Zwilling

Neue sensorgestützte und KI-basierte Methoden für die digitale, BIM-basierte Inbetriebnahme von technischen Anlagen in Hochbauwerken und deren energetische Systemoptimierung

AKTUELLES

6. Statusmeeting am 5.Juli 2022 bei E3D in Aachen

Am 5. Juli 2022 tauschten sich die Projektpartner am Lehrstuhl für Energieeffizientes Bauen – E3D der RWTH Aachen University zum aktuellen Stand der Entwicklungen aus. Am Nachmittag des Tages wurden die bisherigen Entwicklungen dem Projektbeirat aus Vertretern von Verbänden und Unternehmen vorgestellt und diskutiert. Am Labordemonstrator, dem Viega CUBE, konnten die Entwicklungen der virtuellen und augmentierten Realität praktisch ausprobiert werden.

Am 15. Juli 2022 wurde das Projekt im Rahmen eines Vortrages „BIM-assisted, automated processes for commissioning in building services engineering“ auf dem 39. Symposium on Automation and Robotics in Construction (ISARC 2022) in Bogotá, Kolumbien, von Tristan Kinnen und Dr. Matthias Wenthe einem internationalen Publikum vorgestellt. Die zugehörige Publikation kann unter https://www.iaarc.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/ISARC-2022-Proceedings.pdf heruntergeladen werden.

KERNZIELE

  • Entwicklung von Verfahren für die Erzeugung eines "Digitalen Zwillings" bei der Inbetriebnahme der Gebäudetechnik und dessen kontinuierliche Fortführung mit Informationsanreicherung in der Betriebs- und Nutzungsphase,
  • Erkennung von Geometrie, Systemtopologie und energetisch-funktionalen und informationstechnischen Zusammenhängen gebäudetechnischer Anlagen im Rahmen der baulichen Umsetzung bzw. technischen Inbetriebnahme,
  • Methoden zur hochauflösend(er)en Erfassung und automatisierten Erkennung des gebauten Bestandes (As-built) basierend auf Ausführungsplanungsdaten,
  • Erkennung und Klassifizierung von Komponenten,
  • Organisation und strukturierte Aufbereitung der Daten unter Berücksichtigung funktionaler Zusammenhänge,
  • Anwendung neuer 5D BIM-Werkzeuge, intelligentes Asset-Management,
  • Einsatz von Methoden des maschinellen Lernens bei zentralen Themen der Digitalisierung der Energiewende im Gebäudebereich.

PROJEKT

Gesamtziel des Vorhabens

Die Digitalisierung ist in allen Bereichen von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft ein Megatrend.

Dies gilt insbesondere für das Bauwesen, das gegenüber anderen Bereichen der Wirtschaft einen großen Nachholbedarf hat und zu den am wenigsten digitalisierten Industriezweigen zählt. Aus Sicht der Energiewende ist die Digitalisierung ein zentrales Umsetzungsinstrument, um die Volatilität der erneuerbaren Energien in den Sektoren Strom, Wärme und Mobilität erzeuger- und verbrauchsseitig moderieren zu können.

Informationstechnische Lösungen, die dieses Zusammenspiel einer stets komplexer werdenden Energiesystemtechnik erfassen, müssen in Zukunft weit mehr bieten, als dies gegenwärtig der Fall ist. Hochkomplexe Zusammenhänge in der Technischen Gebäudeausrüstung (TGA) und Gebäudeautomation (GA) müssen informations- und kommunikationstechnisch (IKT) erfasst und im Zusammenhang mit Gebäudeinformationsmodellen (BIM) in einer für den Menschen verständlichen Form aufbereitet und verwaltet werden.

Diese Komplexität ist künftig nur durch den Einsatz von Methoden der künstlichen Intelligenz / des maschinellen Lernens beherrschbar.

Ziel des Vorhabens energyTWIN ist es daher, Verfahren für die (automatisierte) Erzeugung eines "Digitalen Zwillings" bei der Inbetriebnahme der Gebäudetechnik und dessen kontinuierliche Fortführung mit Informationsanreicherung in der Betriebs- und Nutzungsphase zu entwickeln.

Die Verbundpartner

Kontakt